Lost 100 lbs and Never “Dieted”

Over the past 3 days, I’ve had 10 people ask me what diet I use, how do I keep the weight off, and what keeps me motivated. Not all, but most are disappointed to hear that I don’t have a diet plan. Not one diet plan helped me drop the 100 pounds. So, what did I do?

It’s simple. I replaced the word “diet” in my vocabulary with the words “healthy lifestyle”. Is it really that simple? Yes it is! 100 pounds ago, I hate to admit it, but I was extremely lazy. Not career lazy. Not mom lazy. Not education lazy. I was health lazy. I did nothing to be healthy. I ate whatever I wanted. I never worked out. I didn’t want a diet. I had a health lazy lifestyle. I needed to change my lazy lifestyle. If I wanted to lose the weight and keep it off I knew I had to change my lifestyle to a proactive, healthy lifestyle. I didn’t want to yo-yo back and forth in weight. I decided the best solution was to never diet, but to change my lifestyle.

I remember surfing the internet looking for a quick fix to my obesity problem. Wasn’t there anything out there that made weight loss easy? Nope! But I came across an article that claimed you could easily lose 20 pounds in 6 months if you stopped drinking 2 cans of soda a day. I was drinking 2-4 cans of soda per day! Sounded easy enough, right?. Plus I was lazy and this sounded like something I could handle. I decided to commit to any healthy lifestyle change for 2 weeks. This was my first experiment. At the end of 2 weeks I would decide if it was a lifestyle change I could live with forever. I lost a few pounds in 2 weeks, felt better, and had more energy. I don’t drink soda. It’s part of my new healthy lifestyle! This is what began my journey to living a healthier lifestyle. Side effect? Dropping 100 pounds.

Of course, this isn’t the only thing I changed. In the past 3 years I have made a bunch of lifestyle changes. They include eating food higher in protein, eating less of the bad fats, eating health breakfast every morning (I never ate breakfast before), replacing processed food with natural food as much as possible, cutting my portions, journaling my food, working out 5-6 times a week, training in martial arts, and the list goes on and on.

100 pounds ago I would have laughed in your face and say I could never do the things listed here. The best advice I can give anyone that wants to lose weight is to evaluate your lifestyle and start changing one thing at a time. Start building a new you with simple lifestyle changes! Before you know it you will lose your weight and keep it off.

Leave a Reply

